Parents, Teachers, Students, and Community Members,

Welcome back Accokeek Academy Eagles and a great big welcome to our new Accokeek Academy families. The Accokeek Academy Parent Teacher Student Association (AA PTSA) welcomes you to a promising new school year! My name is Jeanine Henderson, and I am your AA PTSA President for the 2022-2023 school year.

As a PTSA, we work collaboratively to support the school through events, fundraising, and volunteer opportunities. This is your PTSA, and you are welcomed and encouraged to attend all meetings and events or volunteer your time to ensure collective success. The PTSA is the largest child’s advocacy association; thank you for supporting our efforts to make every child’s potential a reality.

Due to the increasing awareness of mental health and how it affects parents, teachers, students, and staff, we are excited to announce that this year, we’ve added a new board position-PTSA Wellness Liaison. Lolita E. Walker has been appointed to that position. We\’ve intentionally added this as an appointed position to the PTSA Board for several reasons:

• The priority that PGCPS has placed around wellness in programming and discussion

• The conversations that are tough to have at home, yet easier to digest with a community

• The opportunity to highlight the work of our AA counselors

I would like to encourage you to join our PTSA. Memberships are now available through a contactless, online link MemberHub. Membership dues for the entire 2022-2023 school year are only $15 per adult and $10 per student. During our September membership drives you will have the opportunity to win a $25 gift card.

We welcome you to attend our 1st general body meeting Thursday, September 22nd, 2022. The zoom link will be sent prior to the meeting.

Reminder: AA PTSA is registered with Amazon Smiles. Amazon will donate 0.5% of your qualifying purchases directly to AA PTSA, at no extra cost to you. Set your supporting charitable organization to Accokeek Academy PTSA by visiting

Best Regards,

Jeanine Henderson Tanesua Williams Sade Davis

President Upper Campus Vice President Lower Campus Vice President

Sarah Simmons Desirae Williams Robert Bailey

Secretary-Treasurer Communications Chair

Lolita E. Walker

Wellness Liaison